This picture amused me

This set of picture amused me:

12281078349641228205607205

It’s Mizuki Nana and Hirano Aya posing for pictures together (left from Nana’s blog, right from Aya’s blog). I can just feel the horde of Nana fanboys around the world collectively pop their veins when they see this picture while cursing profanities (“Get away from our goddess, you filthy woman!” etc.) Is there anyone out there who is a die-hard Nana fan and doesn’t hate/laugh at Aya, or is a die-hard fan of both? If you are, please disprove me and leave a comment – I wish I am proven wrong.

I admit (which is no secret by now) that I am a huge huge huge Hirano Aya fanboy/worshipper/follower, but I have never been one to laugh at / speak bad of other seiyuu and singers. But from my experience in the seiyuu otaku world, the ones who badmouth Hirano generally fall into the following categories:

1) Mizuki Nana fanboys
2) Horie Yui fanboys
3) Tamura Yukari fanboys
4) Fanboys of other seiyuu

Seriously, are fanclubs and fanboys so insecure that they feel the need to ridicule other popular seiyuu icons in order to make themselves feel better and superior? I for one have never felt the need talk down fans of other seiyuu in order to show my support for Aya. I admit that she’s not perfect – she still needs to work on her singing during live performances (she’s already much better from what I see in Animelo 08), she needs to fire her make-up artist, and I did laugh a little @ Aya Style bikini. But there are many things which she excels and cannot be replaced by others – voice acting (I dare anyone to say with a straight face that strictly in terms of voice acting, Nana is better than Aya), her energy, stage presence, etc.

As for those rumors / slander about Aya originating from 2ch (e.g. “she’s using seiyuu as a jumpboard into the mainstream entertainment!” or “according to animation staff, in reality, she’s a stuck up snob!” or “She’s getting so much coverage because her dad’s a powerful dentsu executive!”, etc.) Well guess what, I really don’t give a rat’s ass about them. Neither should you. Since when can the crap coming out of 2ch ever be taken seriously? INTERNET, SERIOUS BUSINESS!!!!!11111I like VIP and 2ch culture and I find it extremely funny, but anything coming from 2ch should always be taken with a grain of salt because there’s so much trolling.

Just some random seiyuu ota ranting from me…

6 Responses

  1. Are the pictures part of a promotion for the WHITE ALBUM anime next season?

  2. “Get away from our goddess, you filthy woman.”

    That was hilarious. The picture on the right looks as if Mizuki has bunny tooths.😛 Anyhow, anime seiyuu fans need to stop raging for the most retarded reasons. I’m sure in real life Mizuki and Hirano are really good friends. Perhaps Hirano even looks up to MIzuki? But only when it comes to singing – since Hirano has her own style as a seiyuu. As a Hirano fanboy myself, like you I feel Hirano isn’t perfect in some aspects, but she’s young (in experience and age), so it’ll take sometime for her to get better or up to standards? What better way than working with others who are already in their career high? (I actually have no idea about Mizuki’s career, this is just an example.😀 )

  3. I’m a huge Nana fan and I don’t hate Hirano Aya at all. I’m just not a fan of her voice acting, so yes, I can say with a straight face that Nana is better in voice acting too.

    The only role I liked from Hirano Aya is Konata, her wacky voice differentiated her from the rest of the cast and made Konata shine. Her other roles like Haruhi’s voice bores me, while her voice in Kurogane no Linebarrel and Akasaka actually annoys me -_-;; In fact I haven’t heard a role from her that I like since Konata…

    Still though, that does not make me actually hate her as a person like most of the fanboys out there…

    With regard to Hocchan and Yukarin fans hating her, I can sort of understand, especially seeing how Aya’s recent album outsold both of their 2008 albums by a wide margin. I guess it really is the time for the obaasan duo to step down from the top 3…

  4. TheBigN: It’s just some private blog pictures. Nothing official. But I’m sure it came from one of the white-album recording sessions.

    Alchemist11: Indeed. I’m sure Aya has lot she can learn from Nana. I think Nana’s so good a singer because she’s had Enka training since she was little, that’s why.

    Fatcow: I agree Konata is brilliant. Haruhi definitely doesn’t bore me though. The Haruhi voice is still her best voice…the only problem I have is that she uses that voice so much that I get Haruhi vibes more often than not when I hear it. Not that it’s a bad voice – it’s great. Actually it’s the perfect voice for Haruhi and there is no other voice more fitting for Haruhi.

    I’m glad that there’s reasonable fans like you.

    It’s just anime, folks. No need to get all fanboyish and mock other seiyuu.

    As for CDs….I contributed to the insane sales of Riot Girl :3

  5. falcow: Err. Try her role in the Himawari series… It might have been miniscule but I think it fits quite well, despite the fact she had to play someone of a “serious” or “knowledgeable” person. If you haven’t seen that, then think of Sumomomo Momomo where she had a similar kind of role.

    As to the comment of KnL: That anime itself is a failure. I’m surprised Hirano decided to even work with Gonzo. But people will still watch it unfortunately… For the nudity? and “to keep themselves occupied”? I don’t know.

    W-General: I completely agree. Hirano as Konota is indeed as you said brilliant. And Hirano as Haruhi was to my opinion the best. I’m sure someone else could have been fit for it as well. But I found Hirano’s acting really well done, especially considering that lead role in Haruhi was very much demanding and they got someone who exploded herself from the role. It’s not everyday you see seiyuu’s make themselves famous from their own role from just ONE anime.

  6. Cool site, love the info.

Leave a Reply

