Otakon 2009

Oh man I’m a lazy bastard…I have not updated in 7 months. The chances are, that Comiket report will probably never happen (see couple posts below).

I begin to realize that laziness sets in when I have to write large amounts of text then layout pictures.

So from now on I will only do one, not both.

With that said, let’s see what happened at Otakon.

A picture is worth a thousand words, so I will just post picture highlights…

1) The man, the legend, the director god himself, YAMAKAN / Yamamoto Yutaka / ヤマカン

Yamakan 2

(He blinked, Orz. He was extremely impressed about my AX 2007 Haruhi poster which I fought an arm and leg for.)

Yamakan in numbers: 3 panels attended, 4 autographs received, 4 pictures taken with him.

In total, I asked four “juicy questions” – that’s right, none of those “What is your biggest influence” “Which one is your favorite work” stuff. Juicy insider stuff only. (W = Me. Y = Yamakan)

Friday panel

  • W: I read some interviews in which you stated that you dislike director Shinbo Akiyuki or his work. Can you please tell us what is it that you don’t like about his work?
  • Y: First of all, I’d like to say that I do not necessarily “dislike” Shinbo. There was once in the past in which I made some criticisms about him, but I have nothing against the man personally. There was once when Zetsubou Sensei was named as one of the top 5 anime of 2007 and I was somewhat jealous. There are some things that Shinbo does with his work and sometimes the way he does things – that I do not agree with, but this is all nothing personal.  We mutually respect each other, we have worked with the same people on different works, and we have met once and we got along fairly well. So
  • W: So, last year there was this entire shitstorm about Nagi-sama being second hand…I’d like to hear your opinions on that.
  • Y: Hahaha….well….you see…whether Nagi-sama is used goods or not, it was not even explicitly stated in the original work by Takenashi-sensei, so I don’t see how we can go about speculating whether she’s used or not. I think we should wait for an official explanation.

Saturday panel

  • W: I read your blog. So a while ago the director for Basquash! got fired from his position after a few episodes in order to “spice things up a bit.” What is your opinions on that?
  • Y: Well, I can tell you this much as someone who personally went through this himself. Let me first say that I do not know the circumstances in that company, or what happened within Satellite internally. However, for fans who actually enjoyed the first nine episodes directed by the original director, the way they announced this change of director was an extremely terrible and rude thing to do.
  • W: You are someone who is known to put a lot of effort on details in so-called “live concert” scenes like Haruhi episode 12 Live Alive. I was wondering if you have seen K-On!
  • Y: Man, I knew this question is going to come on. Let me ask you this, what do you think of the concert scenes in K-On?
  • W: They are not as good as Live Alive. (ライブアライブの域に達していません。)
  • Y: OK. I have not seen K-On. But the people who work on K-On, many of them are the same people who worked with me on Live Alive, so I am sure that they too put their maximum effort into the concert scenes just like when they did with Live Alive.

There are a lot more questions but I do not remember off the top of my head (actually I remember a couple more) – there was a particularly juicy bit about Endless Eight which he asked us explicitly to “Not upload onto the Internet” so I am not going to do that. The people who did upload it and spread it on the Internet – SHAME ON YOU.

When I find a good report on either or both panels with a more complete transcript, I’ll link them.
There are a couple live feeds from panel 1 and panel 2

Oh ya, me Wotagei‘ing during the Kannagi panel when they played the OP during the Yamakan panel.

Courtesy of Scott from Anime Almanac. Explanation – I love Kannagi, but I love a good Wotagei even more.

2) Aniplex Kannagi panel

Yamakan 1

So, at the end of the Aniplex TBA (= Kannagi) panel, they said “Hey, we are going to have an audience interactive event now.”

So they brought the Kannagi cosplay girls to do the dance. I already whipped out my LED glowsticks (see video above) to do some good Wotagei to it. Then the Bandai dude said “Who of you know the dance?”

I instinctively raised my hand.

“OK, come on up to the stage and do the dance.”

What?!? Orz…so I was semi-forced to do the dance, which turned out fairly well… Apparently Yamakan was doing the dance behind me as well, amusingly.

Aniplex
I am the Aniplex Idol = =

As a reward for my shamelessness, I was given the poster as in the picture above. It has since then been signed by Yamakan after a few of us hounded him after the panel as he was heading off to the opening ceremony.

3) Inoue Kikuko

Inoue Kikuko 1

First of all, she is a super sweet and lovely lady. She can be 60 for all I care, but she will still be the eternal 17-year old. This is fromthe first autograph session on Friday…when they were not so pressed for time (apparently she was only here for one day…wow).

I got my Clannad After phone card signed (featuring Nagsa + Sanae cosplaying as a school girl). When it was my turn to get my autograph, I asked her to do the 17-year old tsukkomi with me…

Her: Hai, deha, ikimasu. Inoue Kikuko, 17-sai desu.
Me: Oi oi~

Then I got my autograph and this picture taken. Apparently the second session was not so successful – a lot more people were in line, and she wasn’t feeling well so they cut the line off early and a lot of dedicated fans got shafted (me included). At least I got what I wanted (in picture above of course).

4) Mell concert

Mell Concert

Not much to say here, except I had a hell of a time. She has great stage presence and the live band is a huge plus. I am sure I did not have as much energy or sweat as much as Jam Project last year, but I still had a great time – especially doing Wotagei (Romance, OAD, PPPH, Mawari anyone?). My calves hurt like hell even until right now. As do the rest of my body. No signed CD album though, unfortunately, those sold out very quickly, but I did get an I’ve bag signed.

5) The gameshow was a success once again

Gameshow

As with the past couple of years, I was involved in Otakon Gameshow because the it is entirely run by CJAS alumni. Not much to say about this either. I hear people thought the questions were too easy – I think we need to spice things up next year.

6) Meeting lots of people – generally not people I knew myself, but more like people I know through friends (particularly through TheBigN). Well met, Omo, Miz, Moyism, Link, and others…remind me if I forgot Orz! Got to do some minimal karaoke with Omo and BigN – the line was extremely long…but I did manage to squeeze in one Diamond Crevasse.

Helped Hendane! with running their booth in the dealer’s room for a couple hours and also for cleanup. Was nice to get a dealer’s badge…can skip dealer line. Greetings to fellow Nekonyan cohorts Shinikenshi, Doc Kyosuke, k.misuzu, and Kaori.

Also met up with fellow CJAS people…BigN, James, Nathan, John, etc etc. Co-conspirators in gameshow.

Once again, this proves my theory correct – Conventions are like a sinusoidal function – on-year / success-year followed by a fail-year / off-year in terms of my primary objective: get autograph and picture taken with guests. This year was a great success after I failed to get a picture last year with Jam Project. This has been an extremely enjoyable experience.

Other miscellaneous:

K-On! Cosplay meet.

As usual, there are way too many Mio and not enough Ritsu or Mugi.

Flight

On flight from BWI to DTW

If I have anything I want to add, I’ll probably add make a new post. If not, then that is all I have to say about Otakon.

Until we meet again, friends…

1) Inoue Kikuko

Inoue Kikuko 1

First of all, she is a super sweet and lovely lady. She can be 60 for all I care, but she will still be the eternal 17-year old. This is fromthe first autograph session on Friday…when they were not so pressed for time (apparently she was only here for one day…wow).

I got my Clannad After phone card signed (featuring Nagsa + Sanae cosplaying as a school girl). When it was my turn to get my autograph, I asked her to do the 17-year old tsukkomi with me…

Her: Hai, deha, ikimasu. Inoue Kikuko, 17-sai desu.
Me: Oi oi~

Then I got my autograph and this picture taken. Apparently the second session was not so successful – a lot more people were in line, and she wasn’t feeling well so they cut the line off early and a lot of dedicated fans got shafted (me included). At least I got what I wanted (in picture above of course).

6 Responses

  1. Great stuff, W-General. Best part is that you don’t live too far from me!

  2. You got quite a few pics with Mr. Yamakan… did you… by any chance get to sniff his cologne? Just wondering…

    The second picture you posted with him is priceless! Perhaps he was checking out a hot babe passing by. =3

    Btw, cool glasses. I usually have few options when picking out the rims for my glasses. Did they cost much?🙂

  3. […] from Aniplex as the three female characters, and them doing the OP dance with my good friend W-General joining in. Rock on […]

  4. I am SO JEALOUS I would have loved to go to that Kannagi panel. And I seriously want that Nagi poster! ^^

  5. looked like great fun ^^

  6. i envy you,.. you got a picture with Inoue Kikuko-san,.. she’s my number 1 idol… tottally,… i’m still 14 years old,… i like her really really,.. i’m a girl, i loked her since i’m 12, i discovered her in Petite Princess Yucie,.. (Queen Ercell) she’s my favorite anime character ever,.. and i’m good in drawing too, i made a lot of comics in my notebook entitled “Queen Ercell anime romance”,.. and of course if possible i want her to voice it,.. even in my imagination,,. you can see more details in “My drawing” in facebook photos including onee-chan’s photo,.. in lizelsequerra@yahoo.com.ph or not just search Seiko Inoue Usui and in twitter @Kikuko46.– arigato,..

Leave a Reply

